decorative element decorative element decorative element
About Uralla Shire

Uralla Shire is a medium sized NSW rural Council with an area of 3,215 sq km located approximately 545km North West of Sydney on the New England Highway.

It is a 2.5 hour drive from the coastal cities of Coffs Harbour and Port Macquarie.

The main township is Uralla which is 22km south of Armidale and 89km north of Tamworth.

The localities included in Uralla Shire are: Abington, Arding, Bakers Creek, Balala, Boorolong, Briarbrook, Bundarra, Camerons Creek, Dangarsleigh, Dumaresq, Enmore, Gostwyck, Invergowrie, Kentucky, Kentucky South, Kingstown, Mihi, Rocky River, Salisbury Plains, Saumarez, Saumarez Ponds, Torryburn, Uralla, Wollun and Yarrowyck.

The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) conducted a national Census of Population and Housing on Tuesday, 9 August 2011.

Records obtained from the Australia Bureau of Statistics website indicated population statistics (being the place of usual residence on census night) at the following locations as:

Bundarra Area (covering 333.6 sq.kms) - 805 people

Bundarra Township (covering 2.7 sq.kms) - 404 people

Invergowrie (covering 26 sq.kms) - 747 people

Kentucky (covering 175 sq.kms) - 325 people

Kingstown (covering 470.9 sq.kms) - 320 people

Rocky River (covering 72.7 sq.kms) - 258 people

Saumarez Ponds (covering 105.7 sq.kms) - 422 people

Uralla Township (covering 9.1 sq.kms) - 2,388 people

Uralla Shire (covering 3,229.8 sq.kms) - 6,034 people

Community website links